and so it begins…

October 6, 2007

It’s 5:34pm, and exactly 4 hours and 52 minutes since my last puff of a cigarette.  I received my first Laser Treatment today, and though a bit nervous at first….I found the procedure painless, relaxing even…I was in and out in a short amount of time….turned loose with a bag full of craving killers (gum, candy, raisins), an arsenal of reasons not to smoke (I did draw up my own list this morning), and the numbers for various “quitters” hot-lines.  Oddly enough, I happened to remember an award winning poster designed by none other than yours truly…(executed during those highly charged nicotine filled college days)…see below….

antismokingtext.jpg

All artwork copyright 2007 Heather L. Young

9 Responses to “and so it begins…”

  1. Steve Says:

    Cool!
    Good luck with your quit! The journey has begun. I’m 460 days into my own. I think the first 100 days represent a real milestone.

    Looking forward to having your smiling face on our Hall of Freedom!!!!

    All the best,

    Steve


  2. Many thanks Steve! I’m looking forward to getting past these first few days…although today is much better than yesterday 🙂 thanks for all your support! h

  3. AJ Says:

    Heather – you can do it and you’ll be so glad you did. Keep us updated!!
    Love you,
    Aunt Jessica


  4. Thanks Aunt Jess! This laser thing seems to have done the trick…anywho…I’ll be in Savannah for Turkey Day…when will you be in town? I might have a girls only martini party sometime that week…as nick will be in Chi-town…

  5. AJ Says:

    I will come in on Tuesday and Michael will join me Wednesday. A girls only martini party sounds fun. I will have to send Michael out with Papa George somewhere, as he is the martini drinker and could get jealous!! We’re really looking forward to our trip!


  6. Yes…this will be a restricted party…lol! Sorry Michael! I’m hoping I can work out all the details…but we’ll see….can’t wait to see you!!!

  7. Bekah Says:

    H-
    I am so proud of you! That poster is very fitting. Now when are we having our fun-martini/ no smoking party?

  8. Dad Says:

    Sweetie,

    I can not tell you how proud I am of YOU! Keep it going. You will find it will get easier! I Love You!

    Dad


  9. thanks pops! 17 days now 🙂


Leave a Reply

