i knew it would happen

December 9, 2007

ok…so i know it’s not the first time nor, sadly, will it be the last, but people, how hard it is to use a crosswalk?  Just two weeks ago I watched a young couple maneuver their baby stroller through traffic on Montgomery Crossroads…makes me sick sick sick!  Is it that hard to walk to the corner and wait for the signal?  Do parents neglect to teach their children how to cross the road or ride a bike these days?   Speaking of bikes, I wish I had my camera yesterday…at the intersection of Derenne and Habersham, I watched as a young man crossed Derenne like he was Frogger on a bike.  Of course he was riding against traffic, not with it, and had a look of shear relief when he finally made it across without being squashed….meanwhile, there was another woman on a bike at that particular intersection, that exact time yesterday…there she was waiting patiently at the street light…like she should be…for the light to turn green, before she attempted to cross…is that really hard to do or something?  I mean, I don’t have a bike, but I have a clue!  Just one of those things, I just don’t get.  Hopefully this guy will get a second chance…(and maybe teach others crosswalk safety.)

Leave a Reply

