love me some crafty time…

December 19, 2007

Those of you who know me well, know this is the time of year when I get to satisfy the Crafty Goddess inside me. Christmas is the best excuse to try new techniques, and make funky gifts for all my gal pals. In years past, I’ve crocheted scarves, revamped old costume jewelry into modern styles, learned to sew handy tote bags, and made hand-bound journals with vintage fabrics…this year the Crafty Goddess really got the shaft, as I had too many commissions to fulfill and not enough time to get my hands on a new medium…(this, I might add, is not a bad thing…so keep the work coming folks…) but anywho, after putting the finishing touches on the last two pen & ink jobs yesterday, I took some time to wrap presents…and seeing as though the Crafty Goddess had been locked away all season, she emerged with a keen interest in paper rosettes. See below:

pinwheels.jpg

I must give credit to Martha Stewart, the original Craft Goddess, for this clever little adornment…

presents.jpg

and yes…I did individually cut out the tags and stamp the edges.

treebest.jpg

and here she is…our wonderfully “classic” (as Nick would call it) Christmas tree. Decked out with the original vintage ornaments his grandparents supplied us with some years ago…and the dollar store tree topper I could not resist. Don’t you think it screams for some tinsel? I mean, Christmas is the only time of year when you can truly be as tacky as you want to be, and get away with it…so why not roll with it?

Leave a Reply

