it’s come full circle…

February 5, 2008

A few years ago, I…(along with dear friend Dana Jo)…concocted a promotional idea to get my foot in the door with some editorial outfits.  The goal was to create something that would be hard to throw away…something that could sit on someone’s desk for a while…and so began the Southern Girl’s Cookbook…(an interesting concept, as I cannot cook for the life of me….)  I spent an eternity (just ask my father) preparing the interior illustrations, compiling the recipes, and coming up with a crafty presentation.  I was warned (by Dad in particular) that the idea might not work on the first round, and to be patient….(not a real strong personality trait of mine…)  So you can imagine how surprised I must have been when Nikki called just 5 days after I mailed the first batch.  This of course, marked the beginning of the Taste of the Month for Skirt! Mag…a series that ran for nearly 19 months, having just ended in December of 2007.

Oddly enough, just around the death of the Taste of the Month, I received one of the original cookbooks in the mail.  The editor of Southern Lady Magazine, had apparently found it hard to throw away, and some two years later decided to mail it back to me…

cookcover.jpg

cookintro.jpg

cookcrab.jpg

Isn’t it funny how things come full circle?

3 Responses to “it’s come full circle…”

  1. rebekahusry Says:

    Why did she send it back to you? And I thought you were going to change that groundhog thing.


  2. […] Lee Lee’s Sweet Tea was one of the original Southern Girl’s Cookbook illustrations, that landed me the gig with the fabulous Skirt! Magazine, and sparked my interest in […]


  3. […] I’ve enjoyed this journey from the Southern Girl’s Cookbook, to the Taste of the Month with Skirt!, and ultimately their last hoorah at The Produce Stand, […]


Leave a Reply

