weekend recap…(this could get lengthy…)

February 25, 2008

Somewhere in between coastal Savannah and Brusnwick, Georgia, lies a community that moves at it’s own pace. My mother and her siblings spent the greater part of their youth here, and I spent many a summer swimming in McIntosh Lake, and taking boat rides down the Sapelo river, to places like St. Catherine’s and Blackbeard Island. Going to visit Granny along the river, always seems to bring me some peace and a renewed sense of inspiration to work with…and after a rather hectic couple of weeks of no sleep, constant cell phone calls, and more projects than I know what to do with, I needed some balance. We began this adventure with dinner at Speed’s Kitchen. But don’t let the name fool you…

speeds1.jpg

speeds2.jpg

I must say the fried shrimp tasted as though it had just been swimming around in the ocean hours before hand…and they didn’t keep us waiting long…(thankfully we were one of the first tables of the night…)

Yesterday, I decided revisit the Harris Neck Wildlife Refuge…(it’s just a short trip from I95 and you pass the Smallest Church in America on your way…so if you want a quick and free siesta from the boring drive to Florida…I highly recommend. You can drive through the refuge (although some areas are restricted to hikers / bikers only)…but you MUST stop at Woody Pond. It is gator paradise…

bestgatorclan.jpg

there are no fences here folks…so unless you want your small dog or child to be gator bait…don’t bring them. That said, most of the big guys (ones that could take off a leg) are off shore a bit…but the little babies are within feet of you….(some of which might be able to remove a hand with ease)

camogator.jpg

camogator2.jpg

of course, Big Mama Gator had to be around somewhere, so we decided to move along…

liveoak.jpg

and then we found this…out in the middle of nowhere…no signs to say what it was…it was just there…and the trees had clearly grown up around the structure…

chimneyinforrest.jpg

After examining this interesting find…we find that Granny has been assaulted by ticks…EEEWWW EWWW EWW YUCK YUCK YUCK! Pure panic ensues (actually she and my cousin were rather calm…) but that’s enough wilderness for me. (Oh and thankfully none of the blood-suckers decided to bite granny, just give her a good scare…so no worries there…) Anywho…I returned to civilization, happy to have achieved some balance (if for only a day…) and even happier to have spent some quality time with those I love….(including Vayda-Monkey…who has been sleeping since we got home…)

3 Responses to “weekend recap…(this could get lengthy…)”

  1. fotokew Says:

    i so need to make a trip out that way. did i tell you my mama’s folks are from Savannah and surroundings. it calls to me! 🙂

  2. rachel Says:

    Heather! The river blogs are always my favorites! It definitely makes me feel the same way. They just make me want to be there so bad! Hopefully I can make a trip down there sometime soon… Love ya!


  3. karin…had no idea your mom was from around here! definitely let me know when you decide to revisit your roots…

    Hi Rach! hope school is going well for you…love and miss you dahling 🙂


Leave a Reply

