yo-ho yo-ho the pirate’s life for me!

July 28, 2008

After many months of planning, several sketches, and tons of research, I’m proud to announce my next mural will be at the famed Pirate’s House! Of course, I’ll be posting the work in progress as we move forward with the project…but here’s a peek at some preliminary sketches…

Left Side: Scene from Treasure Island: Jim Hawkins hides in the Apple Barrel, ©2008 Heather L. Young

Right Side: An adaptation of the original Treasure Island Map, ©2008 Heather L. Young

I cannot even begin to tell you how exciting it is for me to leave my mark on a place that holds such special memories for me.  I can remember begging my parents to take me there as a child, drinking my Shirley Temple in a boot mug, and pirates pirates everywhere!  Buddy, I can’t thank you enough for the referral…and special thanks to Cathy for giving me the canvas of my dreams!

Wishing you all a Happy Monday!

8 Responses to “yo-ho yo-ho the pirate’s life for me!”

  1. Robin Lynne Says:

    Lookin’ good! I can’t wait to see the finished work. Are they gonna let you have a big fancy “reveal” sort of soiree? That’d be pretty cool.


  2. Thanks hon! Not sure about that, but I think it’d be super fun…I love an excuse to party 🙂

  3. rebekahusry Says:

    Love it!


  4. thanks bek! I want my paint…and I want it now!

  5. Vickie Beyer Says:

    What an awesome project! It’s going to be fabulous, I can tell already.


  6. Thanks so much Vickie…I’m so anxious for my paint to arrive, it’s not even funny!


  7. You’ll have to report how haunted the Pirates House truly is!


  8. I hope old Captain Flint doesn’t bother me…but seems everyone over there has their own story…so I’ll be sure to get the scoop!


Leave a Reply

