Are we there yet?

September 4, 2008

Finished?  Complete?  It may be a bit premature to say…but I think we’re there!  On a project of this scale, I always let my client “live with it”  for a week or so, to make sure I didn’t miss something.  I mean, when you spend a month working with your face six inches from the surface of something so large, it’s easy to acquire tunnel vision.  Here’s a peak at Captain Flint’s Hall for  you antsy blog-lovin’ folk…

The left side is an illustrated scene from Treasure Island.

Jim Hawkins Hides in the Apple Barrel ©2008 Heather L. Young

An Adaptation of the Original Treasure Island Map ©2008 Heather L. Young

Whew!  I must say, this was one of the most intense, fun, and unique mural projects I’ve ever encountered.  I can’t tell you how lucky I feel to have been able to leave my mark on a place where I have such fond childhood memories.   Buddy, if you’re reading this, I can’t thank you enough for the referral…Cathy thanks for giving me the canvas of my dreams…and to the rest of the staff…kitchen, servers, management, etc…thanks for making me feel welcome on your turf…it’s been a true pleasure!

5 Responses to “Are we there yet?”

  1. rebekahusry Says:

    Oohh! I love it!


  2. Wow. That really looked like such a large, overwhelming project and you really knocked it out. I thought you’d be working on that for months (but I know nothing about murals). It looks amazing and I’m so glad you had fun doing it.

  3. Robin Lynne Says:

    And the crowd goes wild!

    It looks too cool, lady, too cool. I’m gonna have to show these here pictures to Joe!

    Fantastic job. Yayyy! 🙂

  4. Papa & Pat Says:

    Congratulations Heather! It is just beautiful and you must feel euphoric over your accomplishment.


  5. Thanks so much everyone! I’ve had fun documenting the process on this little blog…sooner or later, I’ll get some high res photos of it on Flickr…(but knowing me, that’ll be 6 months from now…lol) hugs to you all!


Leave a Reply

