28 years and forever Young

September 11, 2008

So it’s my 28th birthday.  Do I feel old?  No…but do I feel young? not exactly.  All I know is that 2008 has been one of the best years of my life, and while I might be caught in the limbo of my mid to late twenties…I feel like I couldn’t have picked a better path to follow.  Since the 10th grade I have known exactly what I wanted to do with my life, and it’s rather nice at 28 to look back and see that I’ve accomplished a good portion of that list.  It’s also nice to put that list aside, and start a new one…(we all know how much I like to make lists anyway)…and take a fresh perspective on the world around me.  My needs and wants are different at 28 than at 15, but the same old drive is there.  I’ve been incredibly blessed, so here’s a list of 28 things I’m grateful for at 28:  (please note the following are not in any particular order of importance)

1.  My family…(even the crazy ones)

2.  Nick, my best friend and partner in crime

3.  My incredible circle of friends

4.  Vayda-Dog

5.  Getting to wake up and be creative every day

6.  My brother and Mark for paying me a special birthday visit!

7.  All the people who have helped spread the word about my work, and allowed me to live my dream

8.  x-acto blades and paint brushes

9.  high-speed internet

10.  My SCAD education

11.  Dremel Tool (and all it’s glorious accessories)

12.  Quiet mornings with a tall glass of orange juice

13.  The sycamore tree in my backyard

14.  Opportunities to paint some of the best canvases around (murals)

15.  Dreams

16.  Feta Cheese and Fresh Tomatoes

17.  Walks in the park with Vayda and Nick

18.  The ability to see

19.  You loyal blog readers who are still reading this list

20.  All the military families who have sacrificed for my freedom

21.  Hand-made cards

22.  Cherry Coke (even though I’ve started to ration my intake of it)

23.  Art Camp with friends

24.  My treasure trove of art supplies

25. Grandma’s home cookin’

26.  Birds and all pretty things that fly

27.  What would life be without rhinestones?

28.  The opportunity to chase my dream

9 Responses to “28 years and forever Young”

  1. Aunt Jess Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY PRECIOUS GIRL!!!
    And I love the disclaimer of “faves in no particular order”…..your crazy family knows that Vayda-Dog comes before us!!

    Love you and wish you a great 28th!!!

    Aunt Jess


  2. Thanks Aunt Jess! (and don’t worry…you’re not on the crazy list…lol!)

  3. Pam Says:

    I love the picture.. My how time flies..and your Uncle is 51 tomorrow…OH BOY!!! It’s about time to trade him in.

    Have a wonderful birthday!!! I have your card and will give it to you Saturday…Oh and tell Nick I will send him LITTLE DEBBIE BROWNIES…MAYBE BETTY CROCKER BROWNIES for his birthday..LOL


  4. Happy Birthday, girl! What an adorable photo, and such a nice list that makes me start my day thinking about what I’m thankful for. Here’s the first thought: I’m thankful to have met (through cyberspace, anyway) someone my same age from the same part of the country who has a similar artistic drive and who inspires me to do more and do better. Thanks! Have a great day! (And I’m sure you will because you seem like a girl who knows how to party!)

  5. mom Says:

    hi there pretty girl. you sure make your mom proud. what a great list. anyway, by now you’re having a birthday lunch with barbara jean and granny saundra kay. enjoy your day and know that i love you!

  6. rachel Says:

    hey heather! thinking of you today.. hope you’re birthday’s going great! love ya, rachel

  7. Robin Lynne Says:

    Happy biiiirthday!

    “The ability to see” – good one. I think I could lose all my other senses.. but I just *have* to be able to see! You know.. being a photographer and all.

  8. rebekahusry Says:

    Happy birthday!!


  9. Thanks so much everybody! It was a great day 🙂

    Pam – little debbies are a trip…you have to send some of those…lol!

    Vickie & Robin – ya’ll both inspire me, so glad the world wide web introduced us 🙂

    Bekah – we’ll have the “after party” this weekend


Leave a Reply

