The World is Her Oyster (revisited)

October 10, 2008

So this painting/portrait/illo has been hanging around my studio now for nearly 8 months.  To be honest, it’s haunted me a bit.  After the initial 12 layers or so of oil wash, I was so satisfied with the rich blue, monochromatic, focal-shifting, composition, that I was scared to add color. (click! to see previous version) Yet something about it just screamed “incomplete.”  I would hide it out of sight for a while, only to rearrange the studio and find it staring back at me again.    It was a vicious cycle I tell you…

“The World is Her Oyster”, oil wash and colored pencil, 16″x20″ ©2008 Heather L. Young

Leave a Reply

