collage day with the apprentices

November 2, 2008

I love LOVE love collage.  It’s fun to teach the little ones, fun to use all those old scraps I can’t bare to throw away, and fun to see just how imaginative you can get with it.  When I was teaching art (to the masses)…this was a real treat for the kids.  They earned “free-create” or collage days with good behavior.  They thought of it as a treasure hunt, and the ideas they would come up with never ceased to amaze me.  They appreciated and learned more from these activities than they ever did with the costly kits, that came with all the pieces cut to size, and color choices laid out.  So if you’re looking for an inexpensive way to inspire creativity with your kids or grandkids…I highly recommend.

Armed with several old Anthropologie catalogs (I just can’t throw them away they’re so beautiful), scraps of old paper and fabric, and a few tools for embellishments…my three apprentices came up with some clever collage work…

Artist:  Lia, 3rd Grade – love those blue boots and fashionable dress

Artist:  Maia, just barely 4yrs. – two dogs for Miss Maia

Artist:  Emma, 1st Gradetake note of the expertly crafted squirrel in the tree

4 Responses to “collage day with the apprentices”

  1. rebekahusry Says:

    I love it, I love it, I love it!!
    Girls – you are so talented! Heather…you really bring out the artist in everyone! =)
    Love you dahling!


  2. thanks girl! they did an awesome job

  3. Robin Lynne Says:

    Toooo cute! I think the boots are my favorite 🙂

    When I was a wee bit younger (maybe 14-18,ha) I did a lot of collage-ing. I covered altoid tins, old glass bottles.. pretty much anything I found, with newspaper, magazine clippings.. that was some fun times! I think you’ve inspired me to collage over a coffee can and bread crumb container… thanks 😀


Leave a Reply

