booked!

February 27, 2009

I am one lucky bride-to-be!  Mom and I had the pleasure of meeting the lovely Jade McCully yesterday.  I won’t lie, I have been drooling over her wedding photography for months now.  Aside from being a fellow SCAD grad, she has a modern and creative take on wedding photos…an “artist’s artist” if you will…She is a true gem and the kind of person I would allow total creative freedom to without so much as a drop of worry.  She feels like an old friend, and I’m sure her personality will make my introverted groom a little more comfortable on one of the most nerve-wracking days of his life.  Anyhoo…here’s a sampling of her work…but do check out her website, www.jademccullyphotography.com.

jade1

jade21

jade3

All images © copyright Jade McCully Photography and may not be reproduced without permission from the artist.

Thank you Jade for a swell lunch and all the resources…I soooooo cannot wait to work with you!  (oh and thank you too Mom !-)

9 Responses to “booked!”


  1. I’m so excited for you!!! Those are extremely well-done shots and I can’t wait to see what she does for you! I have to admit I’m a bit jealous – Bri and I had been engaged for a couple of months, planning a ‘normal’ wedding when we found out he’d be shipping off to Iraq soon. So we called up our parents, told them we were getting married the next Tuesday, and invited them to come. We all went to the courthouse, and actually, it was a lovely, private affair. But we don’t have one decent picture of us from that day (it was mega-windy and my hair is all in my face; I couldn’t find a new dress that I liked so I went in something I already had…and they all seem a little blurry). That is my one great sadness from doing it that way – you know how I love a great photograph, and I think EVERYONE loves a great photograph of themselves (esp. on such a special day). I truly hope you get gorgeous photos you can enjoy forever 🙂


  2. you are too sweet! I’m sooooo excited! we’ll be getting hitched on our 10 year anniversary, so it’s been a long time coming. I think you should do a special photoshoot with your hubby on one of the milestone anniversaries…maybe fly off to vegas like Mrs. Robin Lynne (robinlynne.org) and have some fun pics…and of course…document them on your blog for all us nosy long distance pals to see…lol!

  3. Aunt Jess Says:

    Oooohhhh, I can’t wait to see what she does!

    Pleeeeeeezzzzzeeee, please, please, please can I see the dress???? I’m your favorite aunt.

    I’m dying to see it. Please!!!!

  4. mom Says:

    to aunt jess. no. actually i would like for you to see it but we are keeping it a big surprise. should heather want to share she can but i don’t think she will.

    to jade. it was a pleasure meeting you. i think you are not only talented but very sweet. you are the perfect photographer for our daughter. thanks for lunch. yummmm!

    and finally to my baby girl. good job! you’ve accomplished so much the past two months and i’ve enjoyed sharing it all with you! we’re having so much fun planning together!

    love you!

  5. Pam Says:

    Sorry Aunt Jess I am the favorite aunt….

  6. Aunt Jess Says:

    Aunt Pam….I had a feeling that would bring you out on the blog…haha…..Have you seen the dress??

  7. AJ Says:

    Heather, congrats! I am sure your wedding photos will be memorable! YOU and your groom will make them special! Your chosen photographer is very talented, clearly, but her work will be all the better because of the subject matter – YOUR wedding!
    I have never been married and it looks like I never will be….my partner and I are both confirmed “bachelors” but we are firm believers in committment and are having a ceremony to celebrate ours to each other in September. That cake topper looks sooo great! Any idea where I can get one????
    Once again, hope you enjoy every step of your wedding preparations! oxox AJ

  8. Pam Says:

    Jessica just picking on you…No I haven’t seen it but from what I hear
    its beautiful..I guess us aunts will have to be patient…Looking forward to
    seeing you…The Yacht Club isn’t far from my house so I think we will have the after party there…Even though Nick and Heather will leave we will continue w/o them…

  9. Michelle Says:

    Oooh, congratulations! This must be so exciting for you. The photo of the cake topper is fab by the way.


Leave a Reply

