Take a Closer Look…

March 23, 2009

at the work of Victoria Bennett Beyer.

I’ve been meaning to write this post ever since I got my hands on Vickie’s fabulous Glass Diamonds print.  That print had stared at me for months…something, which on the surface seems so simple,  but upon a closer take reveals so many little intricate details, that’s what Vickie’s world is all about.  She captures the things we would overlook, and gives a new perspective to them.

glass diamonds

I’m still hunting the perfect spot…but I couldn’t resist this subtly detailed frame when I saw it…perfect!

Ice

Ice  – 8×12

branchingout

Branching Out No. 1 – “8×12”

branchingout2

Branching Out No. 4 – 8″x12″ (This one is my new fav)

Victoria has two etsy shops, one a Mother-Daughter shop she shares with her equally artistic Mom, Milemarker.etsy.com, and she just launched a store exclusively for her paintings, Milemarker2. Oh and if you want the very latest on Vickie’s work…check out her blog…which is conveniently located on my Friends list (right hand column of this blog).

To sum things up, I am called back to a quote by the late great Georiga O’keeffe —“Nobody sees a flower – really – it is so small it takes time – we haven’t time – and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time”
Today, I will take time.  (thanks for the reminder Vickie.)

All artwork featured in this post is ©2009 Victoria Bennett Beyer.



2 Responses to “Take a Closer Look…”


  1. I ADORE the frame you found for Glass Diamonds. Thanks so much for the blog love! It means a lot coming from someone as talented as you.

  2. AJ Says:

    Wow, what incredible work and that quote from Georgia, I have to pass it on, it’s excellent….the timing is curious given earlier this morning, I posted my latest photos of one of my amarylis flowers…hmmm….
    🙂
    AJ


Leave a Reply

