Medusa & Me

April 12, 2010

I have officially moved out of Granny’s…(some 10 years later)…it was quite the treasure hunt to find works from the early days.  The following painting is the first painting from my very first oil painting class…also, the first canvas I ever constructed and stretched…(that’s a lot of  “firsts”)

The assignment:  Paint a self-portrait with something “on your head”.  Never one to rock a hat, I went for this

Medusa Oil Painting Self Portrait

Medusa & Mea self-portrait (though people suggest it looks more like my mother)

3’x4′

Oil on Canvas

Now just tell me where in the world am I  supposed to put a large-scale self-portrait of myself with snakes all over me?! (you all know I hate snakes)  What was that teacher thinking with this assignment?  He hasn’t said so, but I think Nick’s scared of it.  So if anyone needs a rather large conversation piece, feel free to make an offer!

9 Responses to “Medusa & Me”

  1. Pam Says:

    Scary!!

  2. mom Says:

    i have blue eyes. lol

  3. Robin Lynne Says:

    I totally love this! Look at all those colors 😀

  4. Aunt Jess Says:

    Funny….before I scrolled down, I immediately thought it looks like your mother (with brown eyes).

  5. AJ Says:

    I love love love Medusa and Me!!! If you are ever interested in selling it, let me know (I am serious)…..you are a very talented young woman, you are, Heather! oxox


    • Thanks AJ…I would definitely part ways with her, especially if I knew she would go to a good home…The question is…how would we ship her?! lol! She’s a rather large beast 🙂

      • AJ Says:

        It would give me an excuse to take a trip to Savannah! How big is “big”?


      • she’s 3 feet wide by 4 feet tall…(not sure the metric measurements…we Americans really suck at that! lol!) i could check into shipping it and see what it would run, but it would be great if you could personally pick it up 🙂


Leave a Reply

