Piccolo on Jones Street – Custom Pet Portrait

May 21, 2010

Sometimes a personal connection with a subject makes it incredibly hard to capture in a truly representational form.  My brain tells me “I know what that cat looks like”…my brush listens to my brain instead of trusting my eyes, and the next thing you know,  you don’t even recognize the work in front of you. Thankfully, I took this one slow…adding a wash here, a wash there…I knew at some point it would speak to me, and it did.

Piccolo Custom Cat Portrait by Heather L. Young

Piccolo on Jones Street

11″x14″ Acrylic & Oil Wash on Illustration board

©2010 Heather L. Young

P.S. There’s still time to get a portrait of Man’s Best Friend for Father’s Day…book quick!

Leave a Reply

