Tree Huntin’ at Wormsloe

August 19, 2010

I’ve got a new series in the works (in addition to the latest Savannah Squares), and it’s about to eat me alive.  It’s pretty much all I think about day and night…all consuming…but in a good way.  Collecting reference has brought me to areas of town that I have overlooked for years.  It’s a shame that when you nest somewhere, you often forget to take note of all the beauty and activities that are right in your own backyard.  For instance, Wormsloe

Wormsloe Historic Site Savannah GA Live Oak Drive

How’s this for a driveway?  Over 400 oaks were planted along this drive in the 1890’s!

Of course, I didn’t go about this adventure alone…Granny J tagged along…and her wisdom served us well.

Granny J at Wormsloe

For starters, she brought two bottles of water…neither one of us expected to be walking 1.5 miles in the deep south heat, but that preparedness served us well.  She also brought along a cane….good for her walking, but also good for warding off snakes…(oh do I despise those critters!)…and yes, we did encounter one, within the first few minutes of our walk! What was I thinking wearing flip-flops that day?!

Alas, we made it to the Tabby Ruins, the oldest standing structures in the Savannah area.  Not exactly the floor plan I’d expected for a plantation home, but I have to give Noble Jones credit for the fact that he built it with his own hands…not that of slave labor.

Wormsloe Tabby Ruins Historic Site Savannah

Tree Huntin’ did not disappoint.  In addition to the Live Oaks,  we also came across this beauty…

Red Cedar Tree at Wormsloe

It’s called a Red Cedar (but it’s actually a Juniper) and it is very much alive.  Oddly enough, Granny has two of these flanking her own driveway, but they pale in comparison to this giant.

Lastly, here’s a little sneak peek of where I’m heading with all of this…

Majestic Oak Sketch by Heather L. Young

The Majestic Oak – pencil sketch – very much a work in progress

©2010 Heather L. Young

5 Responses to “Tree Huntin’ at Wormsloe”

  1. Terry Says:

    Thanks. I’d never heard of Wormsloe.

  2. kelly Says:

    Oh, I love it! Funny how those new inspirations get the better of us, and consume us. Hope your summer’s going well!


  3. Terry – it’s well worth it just to drive down that canopied road…beautiful!

    Mom – I love you, thanks for your support!

    Kelly – so good to hear from you!!! Summer is swell, hope yours is too


  4. I love the sneak peek! You are so right about inspiration in your own back yard. I still kick myself for not taking photos when I lived in coastal North Carolina. Too exausted to think artistically, I guess, but we drove all around and the boats in the harbors and the beaches were so pretty. That’s a big reason I’m so proactive now about touring my local areas – so I don’t regret it later. You never know when life is going to take you in a different direction.


Leave a Reply

