stumbled upon

October 11, 2010

A photo of me  (circa 2003) taken by  long lost friend, and talented photographer, Cecilia Marshall.

portrait of artist Heather L. Young photo by cecelia marshall

Ceci, if you’re reading this, I’d love to reconnect…oh and do share your method, as I’ve completely forgotten how this print was processed.  It’s been applied to a heavy-weight print-making paper, and as I recall, the variations (like “antler” neck) were all happy accidents.

7 Responses to “stumbled upon”


  1. It looks like a Polaroid Transfer, while the emulsion is still wet and developing it is rolled onto watercolor paper and then allowed to dry. I have a few of those on my website where I was trying to emulate some of Degas’ ballet paintings with my daughter Jasmine as the model. Love this process. There is another that is Emulsion transfer where the actual emulsion itself is soaked in hot water and comes off the Polaroid base and floated onto watercolor paper or other surface. It is easily recognized by the wrinkles and folds that occur in the transfer process.


    • Thanks so much Paula…I’m pretty sure that’s what I remember her telling me it was…I’m fascinated with the whole process of photography and really liked the treatment of it here…


  2. i’m so glad i’m one of your “friends”!


    • Please don’t take offense when I change the category to “inspiration.” Been meaning to add you to my list for ages! Ps…any striking oaks in your neck of the woods? I’ve been tree huntin’

  3. robin lynne Says:

    It looks like a polaroid transfer to me, but I could be wrong 😛
    it’s totally awesome looking, however it was done!

  4. mom Says:

    so pretty!


Leave a Reply

