Inspiration

March 8, 2011

I recently spent some time out at my childhood home.   My great-aunt’s property, it has housed nearly every one of my mother’s siblings at some point or another.   I spent the first 8 years of my life in that house and nearly ever summer there after.

Vintage Live Oak Plantation Wallpaper Mural

Perhaps this wallpaper mural in the foyer (circa 1978) has something to do with my Live Oak fascination?

a detail…

Vintage Live Oak Plantation Wallpaper Mural detail

The camellias in bloom and the morning fog off the Vernon River welcomed me home.

Camellia Blossom

Enchanting, no?

 

 

 

13 Responses to “Inspiration”


  1. Your childhood home brought back memories of my grandmother’s childhood home which we lost only a couple of years ago. You remember Oaks and I remember sunlit wrap around verandahs. Here’s to our memories.


  2. Isn’t it great to reminisce? I actually live about 5 minutes from here now… (this is after spending much of my life all over the country)…funny how things come full circle!

  3. savannahbest Says:

    Enchanting and exquisite! No wonder you became an artist.

  4. Dad Says:

    Heather,
    This sure does bring back memories. The house holds a lot of very good memories for me. Thank you for posting this.
    Love
    Dad


  5. Thanks for stopping by Vicki and Cima!

    Dad – I remember your old garden there…and the time Alan tried to burn the house down…it seemed like my youth was a lot more carefree than what the kids have today…thank you a million times over for that!

  6. Rachel Says:

    Can’t tell you how happy I was to stumble on this post! We pulled wallpaper off of our (built in 1957) house’s dining room wall and this mural was behind it but PAINTED OVER with a thin coat of primer! Ack! It’s not that we would have kept it but I would have loved to actually see what it looked like for real, I can only guess at some parts that show through! So it was either google search for a couple hours which led me to your photo here or writing a letter to the previous owners’ children for house pictures… hmmm, I may still do that, there’s other rooms I’m curious about 🙂
    Our dining room mural includes the front gates to the left of the house and, I think, the ocean with a huge sailing ship in the distance just down the steps on the right side. (it’s a big wall)
    Thank you for your photo, at least I’ve been able to see what it would have looked like!!!


    • That is so exciting to hear! You are the first person that has ever contacted me about having the very same one. What an interesting find!

      • Judy Says:

        My mother had this mural, and we took it down in the early 90’s. I am currently looking for a replacement, nostalgic though it may be. You have a picture here, and other than taking a photo of it, where did you get it? I am wondering if there was a website where you found it, and perhaps I could still purchase the mural?


      • It’s amazing to me that so many people find nostalgia in this old mural! Sadly, I have no idea where to get it. This has been on the wall of my aunt’s house since at least 1978.

  7. Allison Bledsoe Says:

    I am wondering if the person who wrote above bought my childhood home. It was my grandparents’ home and when they died my dad inherited it. It was on our dining room walls. That wallpaper has a special place in my heart. After moving around the country with my husband, who recently retired from the Army, we have been blessed enough to settle permanently in his hometown in SC and buy a house that looks much like the one in the mural (must have always subconsciously longed for “home”). Long story short, was wondering if you or one of your family members would possibly know who made that particular paper because I would like to use it in my new dining room.


    • Oddly enough you are the second person to contact me about this wallpaper and how it brought back great memories! This is at my Aunt’s house…it’s still there…but it’s out at Rose Dhu (way southside of Savannah) Unfortunately, we have no idea where it came from, but it sure is lovely!

  8. Allison Bledsoe Says:

    Just realized after reading your post again that you are from Savannah. I am a native myself. The house that I was referring to was in Ardsley Park.


Leave a Reply

