It’s the Year of the Pug

September 29, 2011

My 3rd Pug Portrait of the year just arrived, and it reminded me that I never shared pictures of Frank!  Perhaps you remember K-9 Officer Bully?  Well, this is Bully’s brother, secretly commissioned by my friend Jill’s husband.  (so nice!)   I poured over several pictures of Frank, and even though we’ve never formally met, I can tell he has quite the personality.   Seriously loved painting every wrinkle on this dog!

custom pet portrait pug painting by heather l young

Jill and Jeff were kind enough to snap a few pics of the dogs with their portraits.  (wish my dogs would pose like this…if I so much as think about getting the camera out, the run like mad)

K-9 Officer Bully

Frank the Pug with his portrait

Think they approve?

Oh and not to nag, but if you’re pondering a custom pet portrait for a holiday gift, now’s a good time to get on board!  Each portrait requires several layers of oil paint and lots of drying time, so space is limited.  Visit VaydasPetShop.etsy.com for commissioning info and the main gallery for a look at pet portraits from years gone by.

2 Responses to “It’s the Year of the Pug”


  1. I love the mischevious look in that pug’s eye!

  2. Jill Elliott Says:

    Aww! What a great tribute to my boys and one of the most talented artists I know…not to mention a FABULOUS old friend:) THANK YOU Heather!!!


Leave a Reply

