Looking Back at 2011

December 31, 2011

I spent the greater portion of the year finding my niche (unexpectedly) in the wedding industry.  It started with a few brides and quickly snowballed into a full blown line of wedding paper-goods…most of which have yet to make it to my wedding section…(goal for 2012)

officiating wedding

Speaking of weddings, I officiated one!  (Thank you Val & Pat for a once in a lifetime honor – love, Officiant-O!)

aj and liz engaged

Love, there was just so much of it! Alan Jr., aka Brosef, proposed to sweet Elizabeth…finally, a sister for me!

Transitioning our sweet Lee Anne from life at home into a nursing facility was by far most challenging obstacle of 2011.  I have a long way to go accepting what HD has done to our family, but I can honestly say, that we have felt God’s Grace throughout the process.  To all of you who have taken the time to write letters, send family photos and care packages, and pay visits, you have no idea how much it means to all of us.  It warms my heart to walk into her room and see just how loved she is.

In other news, my baking skills have certainly improved since the first of the year.

I even learned to make Granny’s Famous Cherry Pie…

It took me 31 years to catch it, but I officially have Baby Fever.

I found time to hang family photos down the hallway, and it makes me smile every day when I walk by them.

Mom taught me how to Tie Dye, though I’m still pondering how I will find use for this technique in 2012.

We fed buffalo.  The herd of 30 arrived in McIntosh County in 2011, talk of the town!

Mom’s face here = priceless!

nick and i blackhawks game

We capped off the year with trip to Chicago for Christmas.  Tonight, we’ll keep it low key.  Just the two of us, our pups and a fire in the backyard.  A little peace before the firestorm that is 2012 arrives with all it’s surprises.

Best wishes to you all for a warm and wonderful New Year!

5 Responses to “Looking Back at 2011”

  1. savannahbest Says:

    What a lovely year end wrap up!


  2. I love this post!! YAY for baby fever…if you ever have questions, need advice or just wanna chat hit me up!!

  3. mom Says:

    That was really sweet! Happy New Year!

    XOXOXOXO


  4. […] little something for the only two people on the planet brave enough to let me marry them.  Can’t believe it’s been a year already!  Happy Anniversary Val & […]


Leave a Reply

