Found – 14 Years Later to the Day

August 14, 2012

Tasked with cleaning out from under the bed today, I happened upon a relic from my past.  I had to pause for a moment when I saw the date….

SCAD Rising Star Certificate of Comletion Heather L. Young

strange, no?

Rising Star Program Savannah College of Art and Design

The summer of 1998 was probably one of the best summers of my life.  I was in between my junior and senior years of high school (dating myself here, I know) I had been accepted into the Rising Star Program at SCAD, and had managed to earn 2 scholarships to help afford it.  I had my first real taste of college life, the career I had chosen, and the freedom of living on my own that summer.

I remember the feeling I had on this 14th day, 14 years later.  I felt driven, inspired, and excited for the possibilities of the future…and a little sad I that I would have to return for one more year of high school before coming back to SCAD.

2 Responses to “Found – 14 Years Later to the Day”

  1. AJ Says:

    Just wow. How’s that for a message from heaven?
    I’m amazed. How wonderful…

  2. barbara Says:

    very cool!


Leave a Reply

