Rebecca’s Bridal Shower – Calla Lilies, Daisies and Something Blue of Course

January 9, 2013

My sweet cousin Rebecca is getting married this year and I have the honor of standing in her wedding.  I hosted a bridal shower back in December and wanted to share some of the handmade details with you.  While I still struggle with my baking skills (I spilled an entire tray of cupcake batter in my preheated oven, total mess!)  I relish any opportunity to get crafty with pretty little things.  Here goes…

DIY Paper Rosettes

I started with paper rosettes, constructed with sturdy papers found at World Market.  For a tutorial on how to make these super easy gems, see my guest blog for Be@Home.

Image

Next, I printed the lettering onto card stock, used a circular punch to keep them uniform, and adhered them to the rosettes with a dab of hot glue.

Love is Sweet Wedding Banner Paper Rosettes

The finished piece reads “Love is Sweet,” though my photo doesn’t do it justice.

Image

To compliment the custom banner, I cut corners and purchased these hanging decorations from Party City.

Custom Calla Lily and Daisy Bridal Shower Invitations

I had the most fun designing her custom shower invitations.  Her wedding flowers will incorporate yellow calla lilies and daisies, so I painted a simple floral swag to adorn the invitations.  (I wasn’t kidding when I said I was hooked on custom florals!)

Custom monogrammed keepsake box - Advice for the Bride

In lieu of a guestbook, I painted the couple’s wedding monogram on a keepsake box, and had guests write their “Advice for the Bride” onto little wooden hearts.  It may look fancy but all you need to recreate this monogram are some letters printed on paper, a sheet of carbon paper to trace the letters onto your surface, a good brush, and a little bit of paint!  If you don’t have a sturdy hand, make your monogram with larger block style letters.  For the last little detail, I used a scrap piece of handmade paper to line the inside of the box.

Calla Lily and Daisy Thank You Notes Vintage Inspired

I thought long and hard about favors.  I have received so many favors in the past that just get tossed in a drawer and long forgotten, so I wanted guests to have something they could actually use.  My solution was to print coordinating Thank You notes and bundle them with scrap ribbon I had in the studio.

Bridal Shower food table

Last but not least, the spread!  I purchased the little sugar flowers from Sweet Edibles to dress up the cupcakes.  The cake stand in the middle was a “I can’t stop myself purchase” from our local Humane Society Thrift Shop (seriously, $4 and all I had to do was change out the ribbon!)  The vintage embroidered tablecloth came from my friend and expert vintage scout, April Joy’s shop The Mint Green Tag Sale.

Image

Pam, Mother-of-the-Bride, Sierra, Robin, and Elizabeth

Image

The glowing Bride-to-Be and me!

We’re already  hard at work with details for the Big Day, so be sure to check back for more handmade wedding goodness!

3 Responses to “Rebecca’s Bridal Shower – Calla Lilies, Daisies and Something Blue of Course”

  1. AJ Says:

    I LOVE it! So beautiful! Makes me want springtime!

  2. barbara Says:

    very nice sweetheart!


Leave a Reply

