roots…

January 13, 2010

…sometimes it’s good to get back to them.  In the midst of the Christmas rush, I received an inquiry about a traditional charcoal drawing.  This is not a trade I promote, but I thought it would be a breath of fresh air from all the inks and pet portraits floating around the studio.  So I accepted.  Sadly, the subject of the sketch had passed, and this drawing was a Christmas present to his mother.  (I wasn’t aware of the latter until after I accepted)  Not that I would have declined the offer, it just added a little extra weight to my shoulders to be sure and do him justice.  Thankfully, it turned out just fine…

(Please excuse the fact that this is a photograph…I didn’t want to smudge charcoal all over my scanner)

16″x20″ charcoal on paper

©2009 Heather L. Young